Trip to the library

Standard

Photo by Eric Brown

We took a walk to the library today.  It was a great walk.  It was warm outside.  The sun was shining.  I had a book on hold, After the Baby’s Birth by Robin Lim.  I also found three other books in the library’s for sale section, great books.  They sell these donated books very inexpensively and I have discovered some real finds (CDs too!)

Library finds

I found the lovely The Rainbabies by Laura Krauss Melmed.  It has beautiful illustrations. I also found a very interesting book titled, Among Warriors – A Woman Martial Artist in Tibet by Pamela Logan.  Saving the best for last, I found the Reader’s Digest Complete Guide to Needlework.  Now the reason I say the best for last is this….

I recently read that this was a great reference guide on a favorite blog Soule Mama.  I promptly, or as promptly as one might with a young babe, went to my local library to check out said book.  I found it and I have been doing my best to peruse it’s contents to see what it has to offer.  I decided yes, this would be a good reference book, as it’s really a go to when doing various different types of needlework, reminding one how and other such important matters.  I thought to myself, this is one of those books I’m going to snatch up if I see it at a used bookstore or the library…You can imagine the warmth in my heart when I saw it, by chance really, separate from the rest of the books for sale and actually in my last scan of the for sale section.  It was a feeling of confirmation, like yes, you’re going in the right direction sister.  Silly?  It’s what it felt like to me.

Lately, as I’ve been exploring my creative side, trying to find an outlet, I have been reading various blogs and tutorials and seeing what’s out there on line.  What’s interesting is that in my day to day interactions I have been meeting various artists and the thread that runs through all the “chance” meetings and conversations and the finding of said book is just do it.

This blog is one attempt at that.  There will be others.

Leave a Reply

