I love the flowers

Standard

spring

crocus

sun

walks

birds

gardening

light

joy

These photos were taken a week ago on March 1.  It was such a warm day and it was as if everyone and everything was crawling out from under the rock, bed covers, or den where they had been hibernating for the winter (no, we didn’t see any bears, but I imagine they were emerging from their dens.  Though, maybe the hairy, unshaven men we saw could be likened to bears.  No, just kidding.)

I was so delighted to come upon these blooming, yellow crocus!  They were the first flowers I had seen this Spring.  They were well protected at the base of that rock wall with southern exposure.  Oh Spring.  I am so glad you are here!

Here’s a little song we learned today in honor of the season (from Rise Up Singing):

I Love the Flowers (listen to the melody here) (but sing it a bit more freely yourself) and listen to this version with extra lyrics

1.  I love the flowers, I love the daffodils

2.  I love the mountains, I love the rolling hills

3.  I love the firelight when the light is low

4.  Boom-ti-ada (4x)  (sing this part with particular emphasis if you’re singing to a 4 1/2 mth old, i.e. my daughter Iliana)

D  Bm  Em  A /    /    /    / (chords if you’re so inclined, we just sung it a cappella)

Public Domain

P.S.  See that crocheted hat the babe is wearing?  A recent gift from her Grandmother Carol.  It has lovely ear flaps too!

P.S.S.  I forgot to mention that this song can be sung in a round!

Leave a Reply

