Greenwood tree

Standard

I’ve had this song titled Come Follow running through my head for the last week.  I learned it probably 10 or 11 years ago in something like my music appreciation course back when attending school at Naropa.  It’s a lovely, little ditty and my daughter enjoys it a lot when I sing it.  I looked up “greenwood tree” on the web to see if anything came up as to what kind of tree it is referring to exactly.  It seems it’s just a greenwood tree but I did find two links that were interesting Under the Greenwood Tree and Come Follow Me. The first link refers to a made for TV movie, sappy to be sure (we’ll see as it actually looked good to me, I kind of like sappy sometimes), based on a Thomas Hardy book.  The second link goes to a the website for a children’s music C.D with Waldorf inspired songs (and it actually has a rough melody for the song whose lyrics I have below).  Just a little trivia for ya.

Here’s the words to the song (it can be sung in a round):

1.  Come follow, follow, follow, follow, follow, follow me

2.  Whither shall I follow, follow, follow

Whither shall I follow, follow thee?

3.  To the greenwood, to the greenwood

To the greenwood, greenwood tree!


Leave a Reply

