Inspirational stories

Standard

My husband and I have been discussing the idea of a little cabin up in the woods.  This said cabin would be an exercise in simplicity.  We’d have only the essentials there, a very zen, little space.  We guess that it would be an opportunity to really see what it would be like to get down to the bare minimum.  We’ve thought we’d build it ourselves, another exercise in creating something on a small scale that eventually we might like to do in a larger version.

Yesterday, we came across a man who kind of did what we’ve been talking about:  he built his own, tiny little house, with just the essentials.   It was so inspiring to watch.  It’s just a short little clip and I would highly recommend watching it.  It’s just cool.  It got me thinking about how I could really pair down to the minimum, what could I get rid of, what do we actually need?  I’ve discussed this a little before, the whole question about needs and wants but in a slightly different context.  Anyway, I hope you too feel inspired by this man’s entrepreneurial spirit, his ability to think outside the box, and his venturing into a new way of thinking and living.

On a shrub note… we planted a St. John’s Wort ‘Sunny Boulevard’ this last weekend.  The link has a photo of the flowers, I was hoping to find a photo with the foliage because it’s really lovely.  I’ll have to take my own photo and post it later.  This means we only have 5 more shrubs that have to be planted,  but then there are an additional 2 that it would be really great to get to, and then there is one that is in the wrong spot. Hmmm, the list keeps growing.

Leave a Reply

