Words

Standard

Bear Lake, Rocky Mountain National Park, Estes Park, Colorado

“This little heart of mine, I’m gonna let it shine, this little heart of mine, I’m gonna let it shine, this little heart of mine, I’m gonna let it shine, let it shine, let it shine, let it shine.”

These are the lyrics that came to mind when I put this photo up and started this entry.  (The actual lyrics are this little light of mine, but I think it’s important to note that what I remembered was heart.)  Actually, it reminds me of something an acting teacher once said about how she came up with ideas while directing a show.  She would pay attention to the songs that ran through her head and take note as to how they might relate psychologically or otherwise, maybe to the emotional world, of the characters and what was important to help them get across.

I’m thinking this little baby, she’s my little heart, but also, how important it is as a parent to let my heart shine, let it shine, let it shine, so that this babe can allow hers to shine as well.  She is so watching and absorbing everything I do.  I see how important it is to live our dreams, follow our hearts so that our children too can do this. “I challenge you to make your life a masterpiece. I challenge you to join the ranks of those people who live what they teach, who walk their talk.” -Tony Robbins.  How many of us do this, really do this?  I’ve been thinking so much about this lately, especially as I read Me to We:  Finding Meaning in a Material World.  The stories in this book about people who have followed their hearts, followed their callings and how they’ve been able to make a difference in the world as a result.  Tears come to my eyes sometimes as I read about the touching moments in people’s lives when they’ve found how good it feels to help others.

You have to check out the article on Magnolia Pearl in the current issue of Selvedge magazine if you want to read a story about someone who just follows their heart, follows their passion, follows their calling.  This is one of the reasons I liked the book Eat, Pray, Love because in it, she is learning to listen to her Self, her big Self, and letting go of all the voices of her little self.  I think it’s such an important message.  Another book that I really enjoyed for a similar reason was The Wild Parrots of Telegraph Hill, again about someone who is learning to listen.

Am I listening?  You might have guessed that is my current question.  I’m trying hard to really listen, letting go of what I know is ego, or the small stuff, and trying to keep coming back to the real voice inside my heart.  It takes such diligence and patience, but it has such strength when I stay with it.  I hope you know what I mean.

One response »

Leave a Reply

