Strider Bike

Standard

This is a little video of my daughter riding up and down and up and down a little hill. At first she made sure I stayed right with her but then she made sure I stayed at the bottom of the hill and let her go on her own. But what if I don’t want to let her go on her own?

The bike in the video she has been riding since before she was 2. It has no pedals, it has no brakes, and it fits her. The guidelines I am following as we introduce her to bike riding are as follows:

1. Keep it simple. Her next bike will have pedals but it will not have a freewheel or brakes. She will use the pedals to slow down.
2. The bike must fit. I will resist the temptation to get a bike that will last her a while because it is so difficult to ride a bike that is too big.
3. No training wheels allowed. If I follow the first two, there will be no need.

Thanks for having me as a guest here!

– Eric

Leave a Reply

