The White Masai

Standard

I just started reading The White Masai by Corinne Hofmann.  I’m hooked.  I’m only on page 13 but I just want to keep reading.  I have no idea how it will turn out, if as I keep reading I’ll still like it, because you never know, page 13 isn’t too far into a book.  So we shall see.  I had to share, as all I want to do is read right now, and Iliana is sleeping.  Reading feels like such a luxury and it always seems like there’s something else I should be doing, yet when a good book hooks me, watch out, all I’ll do is read.  When we’re waiting in the car on a family outing, I’ll read a few pages.  When we’re at the park and Iliana’s content for a few, I’ll take out my book.  You can always find a few minutes to read in my opinion.

This book is about Corinne, a young woman from Switzerland, on holiday in Mombasa, Kenya, where she falls in love with a Masai named Lketinga.  She moves to Africa to be with Lketinga and they experience together the beauty of their love and the difficulties of being from separate backgrounds and cultures.

You want to know what I love about it all ready?  It’s true, a real person’s tale of following love against all odds.  There’s something to be said for that, isn’t there?  And I always like a book set in another country, where I’ll get to learn about the details of living in a place through a person’s first hand experiences (instead of a guidebook or something).

Off to read.

Kristin

Leave a Reply

