Inspired by

Standard

We dropped in at Jo-Ann Fabrics yesterday, kind of on a whim.  The one here, in Arlington Heights, has a great display of very creative books right when you walk in the door.  I always find something new and inspiring in their selection.  On this trip, I found Zakka Style by Rashida Coleman-Hale.  While looking through the pages, I found myself wanting to make almost everything in the book.  This book is part of a series called Design Collective that brings together designers from around the world to share their projects.  Zakka is a Japanese term that means “many things”, so the book is filled with lots of little, very endearing items that you can make to add warmth and love to your home.  I also just love how creative the projects are, they’re right up my alley.  I’m putting this book on my wish list.

I so like the embroidery hoop/embroidered linen with bunting and a little rope with clips for notes project.  Also, love the sewn and beaded sugar cookies, Iliana would have fun with those in her kitchen.

I love the color scheme.  The little bear is cute but you’ll have to see it close up in an actual book to appreciate how sweet it really is.

Also, check out Seaside Home, another book by the Design Collective.  It has some lovely nautical looking projects (do you notice a theme in my life?) that are all very sweet and fun.  I especially like the whale (if you click on the link you’ll go right to images on the back cover and you’ll see the whale pillow, it has a great face).  The other project I liked, though not shown in an image, were cloth fish, stitched on the outside with a half inch border and hanging on a line, so cute.

Any creative/sewing/crafty books catch your fancy these days?

Happy Making!

Kristin

Leave a Reply

