Pancakes sans gluten or dairy

Standard

I’ve been working on a gluten and dairy free pancake recipe for sometime, having downloaded the initial recipe from allrecipes.com.  I’ve finally found what works for us and thought I’d share it.  We made these this morning and Iliana helps with stirring and stirring and stirring and then of course eating them.

Adapted from “Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes” on allrecipes.com:

  • 1 cup rice flour (we use brown rice flour-Arrowhead Mills)
  • 3 Tbsp tapioca flour
  • 1/3 cup potato starch
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 Tbsp oil (we use Spectrum’s all vegetable shortening, melted down)
  • 1 cup water

1.  In a bowl, mix or sift together the dry ingredients.  In a separate bowl mix together wet ingredients.  Add wet to dry slowly to avoid lumps and let sit for 15 minutes untouched.

2.  Heat a large, well-oiled skillet over medium high heat.  Spoon batter onto skillet (smaller pancakes I find works better with gluten free flours) and cook until bubbles begin to form.  Flip, and continue cooking until golden brown on bottom.

We like to eat them with honey.

Notes:

I’ve used white rice flour instead of the brown rice and both are good.  The brown rice flour tastes a little hardier.

We use the shortening melted down as I’ve tried pancakes with other oils and I find this one tastes and feels the best to me.  You could also buy palm oil but when I’ve looked, at least on line and for organic, it is quite expensive, so I’ve just been melting the shortening as I always have that on hand.  (Just so you know palm oil is actually quite good for you though years ago it got a bad rap.)

I know my pan is hot enough to pour the first pancakes when I put a few drops on it and they sizzle.

Enjoy!

Kristin

Leave a Reply

