Summer magic

Standard

Carnation Lily Lily Rose by John Singer Sargent

It’s hot here and from the sounds of it, it’s hot everywhere (well, it is summer), but at least here in Chicago and in Colorado, temperatures have been higher for longer periods of time than normal.  I feel like I’m melting, as do most people I’m sure.  There’s a dramatic difference between the dry heat of Colorado and the humidity here in the midwest, both have their difficulties.  It’s been so long since I’ve experienced this humid kind of heat and now living here I’m trying to adjust.  As a child, my mother being from Racine, Wisconsin, we spent some time during summers on vacation at our Grandpa and Grandma’s home in Racine and our Aunt and Uncle’s home in Cedarburg, Wisconsin.   I remember all of us going to a lake house for a vacation one summer as well.  So I do remember this heat but wow!

One thing I’ve delighted in seeing again is fireflies or lightning bugs.  I remember them from my childhood and it’s fun to share this with Iliana.  We went to the Chicago Botanic Garden last night for a Carillon concert on the lawn and then we took a stroll through the gardens as the sun was slowly making its way to sleep.  As we made our way to the car we started to see fireflies lighting our way.

I’ve liked the above art since I saw it for the first time a couple months ago.  I think it’s so lovely and I’ve been wanting to share it here.  I love the image of the girls in the garden, lighting lanterns, surrounded by white flowers and dressed in romantic white frocks.  It kind of reminds me of our evening last night.

The combination of the heat, humidity, flowers in bloom, and children running about, all of us barefoot, was magical.

Here’s hoping you have a magical 4th, no matter what the weather or the conditions.

Kristin

One response »

  1. Alayna said that the night at the botanical garden was AMAZING! Thanks for having her and showing her a great time!

Leave a Reply

