Outside Finally

Standard

Outsidefinally
Outside Finally2

We have begun to spend time, regular time, outside, finally! Ahhh, I sigh a breath of relief just writing that. There is so much to “do” outside. The children just sat exploring, working, moving things from one place to another, occupied, each of them doing their work. It was lovely to watch.

I could talk about my absence from this blog, but there isn’t much to say, except, life is full, very, very, full.

Emerson just reached his first birthday and with that, I also felt myself breathe a sigh of relief. It’s as if I’m on hyper alert that first year, so much care and concern, wanting to make sure everything is okay for him, for me, for everyone. I also feel there is a sort of biological need to get them through the tenuous first year, something programmed into us that makes us, on a very basic level, be consumed with their survival. I felt it at one point, an intense desire to get him to his first birthday. Once we reached that, a few weeks ago, I could feel that something in me knew he’d made it, that he’d be here, and that I could now, breathe a little bit more, relax a little bit more. And oh, I’m so glad he made it and I’m so glad he’s here. (Don’t get me wrong, we’ve had a fine first year, there is nothing wrong, there have been no close calls. I’m just speaking about the deeper feelings we have as parents, that we aren’t always aware of, but that guide us and direct us from deep within.)

It’s rainy out today, so we will most likely be inside. I hear birds and see one on the very, very tall bird house that I can see, out my art table window, in our house on the hill. It is a 6 room “condo” style bird house, but it seems that only one condo is occupied, as the other five are empty.

I have been reading and loving the book Wild Fermentation by Sandor Ellix Katz. So many good recipes and suggestions for fermenting projects taken from around the world. First up on the list will be making “idlis”, for which I’ve just procured an idli steamer with the help of the mother of one of Iliana’s Indian classmates. I am so looking forward to the taste and nutrition of these, as we ate them when in India last August, almost everyday.

I am looking forward to reconnecting with those of you who read this blog, but with whom I have been out of touch with. I think of you, friends in California, Denmark, India, and Canada and wherever else you connect with me from. I hope things are well for you and that life is bringing you joy. I’d love to hear from you. Leave a note in the comments if you will or send me an email and leave a little news about yourself, family…

Good to be in touch.

Kristin

2 responses »

  1. YAY! Your back! I enjoyed our super short phone visit the other day, but I was having a hard time hearing you. I think.:) YAY! Emerson is one! Hugs to you all. We are on spring #15 as it bounces back and forth between spring and winter here in CO. The kids and I are ready for a spring break from school. I LOVE spring, it is like watching God create.

Leave a Reply

