Harbingers of summer

Standard

swing

climber

clematisSummer has officially begun and a few things have led me to believe they know it…the clematis have bloomed, mulberries have turned a dark purple, humidity has hit, and the mosquitos have decided to have a party (at my expense)!  We had a severe storm watch this weekend, which had us hanging out in the basement as tornados were to the north of us and possibly headed our way.  Thankfully, they passed us by, but not before intense rains and winds came down hard.  Wow, that was kind of surreal.  As long as we were in the basement, I decided to throw in another load of laundry, so that wasn’t sooo bad.

Today was a hot one.  We cooled off with non-alcoholic cocktails of lavender kombucha and coconut milk (Emerson is a coconut fan like myself, so the combo is right up his alley.  Iliana likes just the kombucha.)  We finished planting the last of the flowers we’d bought for pots.  Eric had the World Cup on and Iliana and Emerson were learning to cheer.

At the library this last week I picked up two new books (new to the library that is):  Against all Grain by Danielle Walker and Preserving by the Pint by Marisa McClellan, as well as a neat book for Iliana, Music, Music for Everyone by Vera B. Williams.  The two books contain some new cooking inspiration, which I’ve been needing.   I’ve also rediscovered Chitra Agrawal’s blog ABCD’s of Cooking and I’ll try her recipe for spinach sambar.  I tried my hand at pongal (a favorite Indian breakfast of mine) but will be needing to try again, this time following Apartment Therapy’s The Kitchn’s recipe.  It’s funny, because after experimenting with making pongal, I realized how silly it must seem to people who’ve grown up with it when I say it’s one of my favorites.  Also, the fact that I haven’t made it before and would say how I want to learn how to make it, that too must have seemed kind of funny.  It really isn’t hard, it’s kind of reminiscent of cream of wheat, something I grew up on, except that it’s rice and lentils mixed together, and then there’s spices to add.  I don’t know why it’s seemed so difficult to me until now.  I think the fact that I didn’t understand the various different lentils and their uses, as well as the foreignness of some of the spices, these things combined kept me from just diving in and giving it a go.  I’m just so in need of some alternative breakfasts, foods that fill us up, but are healthy and nourishing, that I’m extending myself beyond the usual.  I’m relieved to be doing so, because I’ve found Indian food to be one of my favorites and one of the healthiest and hopefully soon, one of the easiest to make, though that may take awhile!

If you have any ideas for breakfasts, or favorites of yours that you’d like to share, or any cooking inspirations for that matter, please do so in the comments.

 

2 responses »

  1. We have been doing a homemade Honey-Nut Cereal which I love ’cause there is no sugar (but there is honey). Can’t find the link to it sorry. The kids have finally staged an oatmeal revolt!

Leave a Reply

