The Great Stupa of Dharmakaya

Standard

stupa

The Great Stupa of Dharmakaya at the Shambhala Mountain Center in Red Feather Lakes, Colorado.  Me and the children spent a day and a night up in the mountains at this special place.  From the pamphlet:  It is said that anyone who approaches a stupa with a pure heart and the intention to benefit others will receive its blessings.

sidearea

bronzealtar

bridge

And then, we drove home.  On our way back to Boulder, I read this bumper sticker:  What would you attempt to do if you knew you could not fail?

We walked around the neighborhood and though I worried I would somehow lose that special feeling, that feeling of going within, of being in a place where everyone was practicing being aware and present, I found myself still enchanted.  This is what we saw as we made our way back home after a long walk.

home

I’m so happy to be back in Colorado, to be home.  My teacher says, home is where your heart is, so really anywhere is home.  For me, I find my heart near to bursting here.  The smell of the mountains and the desert like vegetation, the piercing sun, the cool mountain air, bunnies, marmots, horses, and the energy of nature, it’s purity.  I want to swallow it into my lungs and keep breathing its deep, fullness.  The light, this wonderful light.

One response »

Leave a Reply

