Photography

Standard

IMG_4404-640px

IMG_4410-640px

This guest post is by my wonderful husband of over 10 years, Eric.

I fell in love with taking pictures when I was about 12 years old.  The feeling has not changed for me since then, although I have forgotten many times, only to be reminded by an amazing photograph or beautiful window light.  I forget much less often now that we have kids.  In fact, I have to keep myself from taking pictures sometimes so that I can be with them without a camera in the mix.  After all, I am here to live life with them, not just to document their childhood.

When I decide to take pictures of them, my favorite thing to do is to try to capture expressions that I think show their personality.  While I like to see pictures of my kids smiling for the camera, it is usually not what I am trying to make.  Have you considered what you are trying to do when you are taking pictures?  Are you making any pictures that you will want to look at in 10 years or are they just for right now?

Peace,

-Eric

3 responses »

  1. Nice post and good to meet you Eric – albeit online! Hmm, I can’t say much on this because I feel like I haven’t taken any photos for a long while, except yesterday on Halloween of course! 🙂

    • Hey you! I think one of these days you’re going to need to do a guest post. Maybe some of those Halloween photos? Hmmm?

Leave a Reply

