Travails of moving gypsies

Standard

tazawrapper

We’re in the midst of moving and eating chocolate.  So many logistics and with children involved?  It raises the bar to a whole new level.  When I was single I moved a lot, I mean a lot.  Eric used to make fun of me as we drove around, “did you live there, did you live there”.  You’d be surprised how many times I said, “yes”, or “no, but I did live around the corner” (and that goes for places that I worked too.-Dad, hopefully that makes you laugh.) This move from Illinois to Colorado has been a whopper.  We’re also doing all of this around the holidays, again.  Three moves in the past three years.  Hmmm, it kind of blows the wind out of your sails regarding holiday preparations.  The other thing that always puts it right over the top?  My four days before Christmas birthday.  This year I’m turning 40.  It would seem a party is in order.  Eric always jokes that he’s going to get me a really good Combo Gift.  Anyone else born near a holiday knows exactly how awful the phrase Combo Gift truly sounds.  It kind of makes me cringe as I remember my sister and me opening exactly the same Christmas gifts from a neighbor, though mine said “Happy Birthday and Merry Christmas”.  Poor me.  As the moving truck arrives tomorrow and I can’t even remember what stuff is coming, I find myself thinking and sometimes saying to Iliana, it’s going to be like Christmas.  Opening boxes (some of which never got opened from the original move three years ago), leaves me feeling a little excited.  It may be that this year is the best Combo Gift of all.

Delancey

I went to the library to pick up the new book Delancey by Molly Wizenberg.  Reading just a few minutes here and there is a huge stress reliever as MOVING DAY approaches.  It takes me out of my current stress i.e. bickering children, bickering parents, bickering parents with children and into someone else’s life.  As it pertains to Delancey, the stress and joy of opening one’s own restaurant.  It’s lovely and hopeful.  A book about a person’s or two people’s dreams coming to fruition.   I’ve been thinking about the opening quote all day.

It may be that when we no longer know what to do, we have come to our real work, and when we no longer know which way to go, we have begun our real journey.  The mind that is not baffled is not employed.   The impeded stream is the one that sings.

-Wendell Berry

The impeded stream.  Kind of describes being a Mom.  But in a good way.

Happy Moving?  Do people say that?

4 responses »

    • Hi Madhavi aka Mardi!
      Forgot you are a Sag too! Also little Zara, turning 2? Finished the book very quickly, now trying to find something like it, love a grab you and take you along book. I hope you are all well. Thinking of you as of late.

  1. Hi Browns,
    We never got a chance to say good bye to you. Emily and Lamar are missing Iliana and are excited to see her and what she’s been up to. We wish you all the best! The Osterhues Family

    • Good to hear from you. Yes, we lamented not being able to say goodbye. We’ve talked about Emily and Lamar and wondered how they are doing. I hope it’s fun to be able to see photos of Iliana on my blog. Glad you found it. Best to all of you and Happy Holidays! The Browns

Leave a Reply

